10 interesting facts about Sharks: ‘The king of oceans’

Cá mập là loài chung thủy số 1

Sharks are very faithful species, after the female dies, the male shark will not “remarry” any other female. The article tells 10 interesting points about this famous fish.

Sharks are known as the king of the ocean. Not only have their large appearance, aggressive personality, they also have many different personality traits that few people know.

Here are 10 interesting facts about this fish that few people know, according to The Dido website:

1. Sharks are the number 1 loyal species

The shark is the number one faithful animal in the ocean, it has only one mate. When the female dies, the male will not mate with any other female, but will change his own sex to maintain the breed.

Photo by Lachlan Ross on Pexels.com

2. Sharks have a very sensitive sense of smell

This fish is also sensitive in the sense of smell. It has a very perfect olfactory system, pretty good eyesight plus the ability to sense the electric field of animals that have made the shark the king of the sea.

With this sense, one can identify the smell of blood, or urine of prey from miles away. Because of this, many people think that if they bleed, they should not swim or surf for fear of being attacked.

3. Sharks don’t consider humans as prey

The truth is that sharks don’t see humans as prey. It is inherently easy to distinguish between human blood and the blood of prey in the wild, so it cannot be confused. Most attacks are caused by them mistaking surfers or swimmers for seals or manatees.

Although many people think this is the most dangerous animal in the world. In fact, more people die each year from a wasp sting or a dog bite than from a fish attack. You are more likely to die if hit by a falling coconut than if attacked by a shark.

Photo by Los Muertos Crew on Pexels.com

4. Can lay eggs

Another fact that you may not know yet is that sharks can also lay eggs. Most people think that this fish gives birth.

In fact, an adult female can lay eggs up to 14 inches (35 cm) in size, the size of a large pizza. Eggs are nurtured in the mother’s body until hatching. It is also the largest egg-laying animal in the world.

5. Sharks have no bones

Sharks use their gills to filter oxygen from the water. They are a special type of fish known as “elasmobranchs,” which means fish that are composed of cartilage tissue – the clear liquid that your ears and nose tip are made of. This category also includes rays, sawfish and skates. Their cartilaginous skeletons are much lighter than real bones, and their large liver plates are filled with low-density oils, both of which help them float.

Although they have no bones, they can still be fossilized. As most sharks age, they accumulate calcium salts in their bone cartilage to increase strength. The fish’s dry jaw appears and feels heavy and solid; like bones. It is these same minerals that allow most fossil shark bone systems to be quite unique. Teeth have enamel so they also appear in the fossil record.

Cá mập không coi con người là con mồi
Cá mập không coi con người là con mồi

6. Have a sixth sense

Sharks have a sixth sense (that doesn’t mean they can read your mind). They can sense electromagnetic fields and changes in water temperature, allowing them to find food. They do this using the sensitive sensory organs on their heads and muzzles.

7. Can’t stop moving

Some species, like great whites, whale sharks, and mako sharks, will die if they stop swimming. To get oxygen from the water, they swim with their mouths open, pushing water through their gills. If they stop moving, they won’t be able to get water (and oxygen) into their mouths.

However, there are some that actually stop swimming. For example, nurse sharks and tiger sharks can rest on the ocean floor. They use the suction method to breathe, that is, by inhaling water into the mouth and through the gills.

8. They’re older than dinosaurs

This fish has been around for about 400 million years! They have survived five mass extinctions. For reference, the first dinosaurs appeared on Earth about 200 million years ago.

9. Some types of sharks are in danger of extinction

About a quarter of fish species are currently threatened with extinction. The number of these fish species is decreasing due to human overfishing and habitat damage due to human activities and pollution.

The oceans are also warming due to climate change, making many areas too hot for them. This causes them to migrate into different areas, leading to a decrease in the number of other fish (which are their prey) and ultimately upsetting the ecosystem. This can also be dangerous to humans, as they can migrate into areas where they may come into closer contact with humans.

10. More than 400 species exist worldwide

Just like us, they come in all shapes and sizes! On one end you have a whale shark that grows up to 12 meters in length, and on the other you have a dwarf lantern shark that can fit in your hand. About 180 species live in the Australian sea.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s